C is for Cripes – #AtoZ Challenge

51R6KBB4YSL._SX335_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This delightful children’s book is packed full of beautiful, eloquent language and yet one of my two favorite words in the whole book is cripes (the other one being gor). “Cripes. You can’t learn can you?” But like the hero of the story I learned how magical some words on a page could be, not to mention lots of vocabulary along the way. I have read this book over and over again and still enjoy it as much as I did the first time. The story might be simple: a mouse falls in love with a princess and rescues her when she is taken captive by a rat and a serving girl. But the characters are so rich and complex I’m surprised they don’t ooze right out of the pages. It is a wonderful book for kids of early elementary age and anyone who likes a good fairytale. Gor!

 

Leave a comment