D is for Djinni – #AtoZChallenge


Here is another great trilogy that grew too big for its britches. Now dubbed “The Bartimaeus Sequence” after a fourth book was added to the original three, this series is named after the DJINNI who terrorizes, plagues, obstinately serves and ultimately, grudgingly befriends a young magician. At first glance the Bartimaeus books might look like serious FANTASY (you know, the kind that involves lots of weird names no one can pronounce and way too many elves/sprites/[insert your mythical creature of choice here]). Just the names of the books alone could easily frighten off some readers. (In order they are The Amulet of Samarkand, The Golem’s Eye, Ptolemy’s Gate and The Ring of Solomon.)  And, of course, it is fantasy. But it is also REALLY funny. There were times I laughed so hard that my stomach hurt. These books are great picks for kids who have outgrown Harry Potter or have already read them so many times that they know them by heart.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s