G is for Galaxy – #AtoZChallenge

I have a confession to make. I am not a huge fan of many of the literary classics. Not that I don’t see their worth in adding context to history or contributing to a common knowledge base for a culture, but as the quality of the storytelling is concerned, well, things evolve and writing is no exception. That said, I admit that I have a soft spot when it comes to science fiction classics. Add some side-splitting British humor and I’m all over it (you may have noticed by now that I like funny books written by Brits). By these standards The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is at the top of my list. When I first read this book it was like discovering a brand new dimension. If you’re an adult and have somehow missed this one, stop whatever you’re doing, go to your nearest library and check it out (yes, you can also buy it on Amazon) and then read it! If you (or your kid) is in high school right now, ditto. I promise you’ll be happy that you did. (If you/your kid is younger, sorry but you should probably wait. Like my six-year-old trying to watch Downton Abbey with Mom and Dad one night, you/he/she just won’t get it.)

Leave a Reply

