Post-it-Note Stories

This is a great exercise for writers, whether novice or pro. It’s quick and fun and can be used as a warm-up or to push through a writer’s block.

Here’s what you do:

  1. Get a 3×3 Post-it-Note and a pen,
  2. Turn on good lighting and grab a magnifying glass if you have one,
  3. Write. Don’t worry about plot or punctuation. Just have fun! Your complete story must fit on a single Post-it-Note (using the back is allowed).

When I first started to write this was how I learned to put words on a page. I figured if I could fill three inches, another eight wasn’t so hard. And if I could do that, a chapter wasn’t so daunting and . . . well, you get the idea.  I’ll be posting some of my original Post-it-Note stories over the next few weeks for you to enjoy.

One thought on “Post-it-Note Stories

Leave a Reply

